Adventure race in Paradise Island

Adventure race in Paradise Island
IMAGINE the popular reality TV show “Amazing Race” being transported to a frontier and pristine town in the southern island in the country’s Pacific seaboard.

This is what happens as the Siargao Adventure Race 2012 unreels in the rustic town of Santa Monica in Siargao Island, Surigao del Norte.

Now on its second staging, the race will involve off-road running, trekking, mountain biking and orienteering, covering 40 kilometers of the spectacular sceneries and rugged terrain, composed mostly of gravel and dirt roads, and one-third of the way single track trails.

The event incorporates the First Philippine Bike Orienteering Race where the competing two-man teams will navigate on bicycles.

Sta. Monica Mayor Rosalinda Penera said that the race will bring to the fore the town’s famed five-kilometer Alegria White Sand Beach, the rejuvenating Taktak waterfalls, hidden coves, caves, islets with coral gardens, marine sanctuaries and mangrove forests.

She said that the outdoor event will promote the town and Siargao Island as a year-long sports and adventure getaway in addition to being a world-famous surfing spot of the neighboring town of Gen. Luna.

She added that the activity will also open Sta. Monica to potential infrastructure support, community and livelihood programs, and business opportunities from both national government agencies and private investors.

Spicing up the race are socio-civic activities mangrove planting at Santa Monica Mangrove Park, Budol-Budol Fight, Sapao-Sapao Festival, discovery tours, and nightly entertainment.

Located at the northern portion of Siargao Island facing the rich Dinagat Sound, Sta. Monica is a good jump-off point to the equally charming municipalities of Del Carmen and Burgos which have their own distinct tourism magnets.

It can be reached from Cebu via Cebu Pacific Air flight to the Sayak Airport in Del Carmen, Siargao.

Siargao Adventure Race is supported by the Provincial Government of Surigao del Norte, the Philippine Surfing Federation, the Congressional District Office of Rep. Francisco Matugas, the Department of Tourism-Region 13, San Miguel Corp., Nature’s Spring, Coca-Cola Bottlers and Cebu Pacific as official carrier.


About Siargao

Siargao is composed of 48 islands and islets-politically divided into nine municipalities: Burgos, Dapa, Del Carmen, Gen. luna, Pilar, San Benito, San Isidro, Santa Monica, and Socorro. Read more...

Guest Publisher

We accept guest publisher. Please send your stories, municipal/barangay updates, upcoming events or articles at

Blog Archive