Australian wins 3rd Siargao Int’l Women Surfing Cup

5/25/09 - Two time runner-up World Champion Serena Brooke of Australia surfed her way to victory during the recently concluded 3rd Siargao International Women Cup held on May 11 to 14, 2009 at Cloud 9, Brgy. Catangnan, this town.

Brooke surfed away with a hefty US$2,000 check for the win defeating 23 other women tube riders from Australia, China, Japan, United States and some local folks of Siargao, Baler in Quezon, and La Union province.

During the closing ceremony held recently at the town’s boulevard, Brooke thanked the people of Siargao for their hospitality and warm welcome.

The veteran professional surfer made the crowd pleased when she donated half of her prize to the local women surfers of Siargao.

Other winners proclaimed include Philippa Anderson of Australia who finished in second place with US$1,000 prize. Behind Anderson, Erina Tanaguchi and Kim Wooldrige came in third, Brooke Farris, Nildie Rittenbach, Manel Alcala and Daisy Valdez in fifth.

Special awards also include “Highest Filipina Out of the Money” went to Nielvie Blancada, Mocca Edmusa, Michey Galang and Karen Betsayda. Best Wipeout Award went to Misha Luechinger.
The 3rd Siargao International Women Cup is proudly supported by the Provincial Government of Surigao del Norte with support from the Department of Tourism. (PIA-Surigao del Norte)
Share Post:


Post a Comment

About Siargao

Siargao is composed of 48 islands and islets-politically divided into nine municipalities: Burgos, Dapa, Del Carmen, Gen. luna, Pilar, San Benito, San Isidro, Santa Monica, and Socorro. Read more...

Guest Publisher

We accept guest publisher. Please send your stories, municipal/barangay updates, upcoming events or articles at

Blog Archive