Tourism, transport highway map unveiled in Mindanao exposition

August 23, 2009 - A three-dimensional (3-D) map showing the connectivity and accessibility of Mindanao’s tourism destinations was unveiled during the recent opening of the Mindanao Travel and Tour Exposition 2009 (MTTE 2009) at the Davao Convention and Trade Center in Davao City.

The Mindanao Tourism and Transport Highway Map (MTTH), a 3-D landscaped model map of Mindanao, shows key tourism sites and the major highways, seaports and airports connecting various tourism and key destinations.

Some of the areas shown in the MTTH map include Dakak in the Zamboanga Peninsula, Siargao Island in Surigao del Norte, the Island Garden City of Samal on Samal Island, and the Agusan Marsh in Agusan del Norte.

An inter-agency project of the Department of Tourism (DoT) and the Department of Transportation and Communication (DoTC), the tourism and transport highway map features the multi-modal interconnectivity of the transportation and infrastructure development of Mindanao.

This project stresses the accessibility as well as the connectivity of the key eco-tourism sites of southern Philippines with the end view of encouraging domestic tourism within Mindanao while showcasing the ease and affordability of travel and tours within the island.

Changes and updates may be made even after the launching, as the map is an ongoing project. In the future, results of the project may be made accessible via Internet once the system is set in place.

At the interagency workshop on the MTTH Map held last month in Cagayan de Oro City, Tourism Undersecretary Oscar Palabyab stressed the importance of the map in identifying the gaps in tourism, transportation as well as the needed infrastructure support.

“Our neighbors have the basic infrastructure requirements, that’s why they have more visitors and tourists,” said Palabyab, adding that Mindanao has the best tourism destinations whether in terms of culture, adventure or nature.

He also said that the Brunei Darussalam-Indonesia-Malaysia-Philippines–East ASEAN Growth Area (BIMP-EAGA) is one important strategy for tourism marketing of Mindanao. (Manila Bulletin)
Share Post:


Post a Comment

About Siargao

Siargao is composed of 48 islands and islets-politically divided into nine municipalities: Burgos, Dapa, Del Carmen, Gen. luna, Pilar, San Benito, San Isidro, Santa Monica, and Socorro. Read more...

Guest Publisher

We accept guest publisher. Please send your stories, municipal/barangay updates, upcoming events or articles at

Blog Archive