Arroyo to go shark seeing in next super region trip

Shark seeing will be among the highlights of President Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo's trip to Central Philippines this week as part of her Super Regions tour.

A MalacaΓ±ang statement said President Arroyo would be in Donsol, Sorsogon on Monday for a glimpse of the world famous butanding (whale shark), which is a major tourist attraction of the province.

On Wednesday morning, the President will go scuba diving near Malapascua Island in Cebu to see thresher sharks or banderahan. The island is reportedly the only place in the world where one can have daily sightings of the thresher sharks.

The thresher shark is called such because of its huge tail which is about half of its four-meter-long body. It feeds on sardines, cattle pods and crustaceans and can live up to 28 years if left undisturbed.

Other sharks President Arroyo hopes to see are the white tip and hammerhead sharks, which frequent the waters of Malapascua Island from January to March.

The other fish that could be seen in the island are devil and manta rays, barracuda, batfish, tuna, flutemouths, mantis shrimps, lionfish, pipefish, Moorish idols, scorpionfish, squid, bannerfish, octopus, unicornfish, moray eels, seahorses, frogfish, and seamoths.

The Central Philippines Super Region is the fourth in the five-growth region development strategies of the President. She had initially inspected and visited projects sites under the Cyber Corridor Super Region, Luzon Urban beltway Super region, and the Mindanao Agribusiness Super Region in the last three weeks.

Aside from Sorsogon and Cebu, President Arroyo will also visit Bohol and Palawan as part of the Central Philippines Super Region tour.

The Central Philippines Super Region covers Regions 4B (Mimaropa), 5 (Bicol), 6 (Western Visayas) , 7 (Central Visayas), and 8 (Eastern Visayas) and other top tourist destinations like Romblon, Palawan, Camiguin and Siargao.

Press Secretary Cris Icban Jr. said Mrs. Arroyo's travels are meant to underscore her milestone achievements over the past nine years which she intends to turn over to the next president “who will build on them further."

After Sorsogon, President Arroyo will fly to Palawan on Tuesday to convene a Cabinet meeting in Puerto Princesa. On Tuesday evening, she will fly to Cebu where she will stay overnight and proceed the following day to Bohol. - KBK, GMANews.TV
Share Post:


Post a Comment

About Siargao

Siargao is composed of 48 islands and islets-politically divided into nine municipalities: Burgos, Dapa, Del Carmen, Gen. luna, Pilar, San Benito, San Isidro, Santa Monica, and Socorro. Read more...

Guest Publisher

We accept guest publisher. Please send your stories, municipal/barangay updates, upcoming events or articles at

Blog Archive