Spanish Mariculture Parks Benefit Siargao Fishermen

10/03/10 - DAPA, Siargao Island, Surigao del Norte (PNA) – A big number of fishermen on this island and in Barobo town, Surigao del Sur have started to reap the fruits of the two Mariculture Park projects of the Agencia EspaΓ±ola de Cooperacion Internacional (AECI).

Dapa Mayor Peter Ruaya and Barobo Mayor Arturo Ronquillo said the AECI projects also started to attract investors, and in return provide more income and livelihood to the local fishermen.

The two town chief executives said they are now pushing to adopt advanced technology to make Dapa and Barobo a livable place.

The two mariculture projects were launched in Barobo on April 8, 2008 and in this town on May 10, 2008. (Manila Bulletin)

“This is a big help to our local economy,” said Ruaya.

The Barobo Mariculture Park is the second in the region but the first one to be launched under the Sustainable Management of Coastal Resources in Bicol and Caraga Regions (SUMACORE) program of the AECI in partnership with the local government unit (LGU).

The establishment of mariculture parks is part of the Department of Agriculture-Bureau of Fisheries and Aquatic Resources (DA-BFAR) program in transforming the local fisherfolk from hunters of the seas to fish farmers.

This is one of the measures to adapt to the fast-changing times and the inevitable global warming, officials from the DA-BFAR said.

These two mariculture parks will serve as showcases of fishery technologies to encourage more to invest on mariculture.

It was gathered that yield per cropping of one cage could equal to the yield of a two-hectare fishpond.

DA-BFAR officials also foresee the region to be the “grouper capital” of the country since the local waters abounds with rich fishery resources.

They said the two mariculture parks would redound to poverty alleviation, job generation and food security in the coastal areas.

Rep. Francisco T. Matugas (1st District, Surigao del Norte), Rep. Florencio Garay (2nd District, Surigao del Sur), SUMACORE project director Jessica MuΓ±oz, Ruaya, and Ronquillo encouraged the local residents to support and protect for a sustainable livelihood and improved quality of life.
Share Post:


Post a Comment

About Siargao

Siargao is composed of 48 islands and islets-politically divided into nine municipalities: Burgos, Dapa, Del Carmen, Gen. luna, Pilar, San Benito, San Isidro, Santa Monica, and Socorro. Read more...

Guest Publisher

We accept guest publisher. Please send your stories, municipal/barangay updates, upcoming events or articles at

Blog Archive