Siargao women surfers win in the 7th Siargao Int'l Surfing Cup

The winners (L-R) - Kim Woolridge (Australia), Nildie Retenbach (Philippines)
and Manette Alcala (Philippines)
On its 7th year, the all women's surfing event in Asia (which was held from May 6 to 10, 2014) successfully concluded last May 10, after days of intense competition among the 19 surfers from Japan, United Kingdom, Australia, Germany, Greece, Czech Republic, Sweden, Argentina, France and Philippines. at the world's best surfing spot, Cloud 9 in Siargao Island, Philippines. 

Whopping the US$5,000 prizemoney with trophies were three women surfers from Siargao Island plus an Australian surfer, Kim Woolridge, who was last year's defending.

Champion: Nelvie Blancada (Philippines)
1st RU: Manette Alcala (Philippines)
Equal 3rd RU: Nildie Retenbach (Philippines) and Kim Woolridge (Australia)

This 5-day event was organized by the Philippine Surfing Federation (PSF), Local Government of General Luna, Provincial Government of Surigao del Norte and Philippine House of Representatives for the first district of Surigao del Norte.  (Photos by Wilmar Melindo)

The surfers together with the government officials (L-R) - Mayor Jaime Rusillon, Governor Sol Matugas, Congressman Francisco Matugas, Board Member Simeon Castrense, Vice Mayor Vic-Vic Solloso and Vice Governor Egay.

Special thanks to our sponsors - Surf Angel, Fluid Surf, Smart Communications, San Miguel Corporations and Nature Spring.

Share Post:


Post a Comment

About Siargao

Siargao is composed of 48 islands and islets-politically divided into nine municipalities: Burgos, Dapa, Del Carmen, Gen. luna, Pilar, San Benito, San Isidro, Santa Monica, and Socorro. Read more...

Guest Publisher

We accept guest publisher. Please send your stories, municipal/barangay updates, upcoming events or articles at or

Blog Archive