Arroyo inaugurates new road providing link to Siargao airport

05/23/10 - DEL CARMEN, Surigao del Norte - A new road project that links to a newly-constructed airport has been inaugurated in Siargao island on Friday, helping boost tourism in what is considered as an international surfing and fishing hub in the country.

The P152 million Dapa-Del Carmen road project was inaugurated by President Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo, who was accompanied by a small entourage of officials, including Surigao del Norte Congressmen Francisco Matugas and Guillermo Romarate Jr.

The inauguration took place after the President, onboard a Philippine Air Force helicopter, visited the P92-M Sayak International Airport Development Project in the area.

During the visit, the chief executive held a discussion with local officials about the Sayak International Airport building whose construction is still ongoing.

Arroyo and her entourage were also welcomed at the Sayak airport by mayors of the island’s nine towns, some Caraga regional directors and spouses of Congressmen Matugas and Romarate who both won the recently concluded May 11 polls as Governor and Board Member respectively.

Caraga is a special administrative region composed of Agusan del Norte, Agusan del Sur, Dinagat Islands, Surigao del Norte, and Surigao del Sur.

After the Sayak airport visit, President Arroyo and entourage proceeded to Del Carmen town proper to inaugurate the almost eight kilometer road construction and concreting of Dapa-Del Carmen road at Barangay Cancohoy as part of the airport road connection.

The President also did an inaugural drive-thru near the Cancohoy-Sayak Airport road with some cabinet and DPWH officials headed by Secretary Victor Domingo, DPWH Regional Director Evelyn T. Barroso, among others.

Barroso claimed that some of the Siargao Island Infra projects started late 2008 and are targeted to be completed before President Arroyo steps down in June.

After lunch, President Arroyo and entourage is expected to fly to Zamboanga for official visit and inauguration of vital projects there. - (GMANews)
Share Post:


Post a Comment

About Siargao

Siargao is composed of 48 islands and islets-politically divided into nine municipalities: Burgos, Dapa, Del Carmen, Gen. luna, Pilar, San Benito, San Isidro, Santa Monica, and Socorro. Read more...

Guest Publisher

We accept guest publisher. Please send your stories, municipal/barangay updates, upcoming events or articles at

Blog Archive