Landslide kills 5 as 'Sendong' passes Northeastern Mindanao

12/17/2011 - Five persons died in a landslide at gold-rush Barangay Mt. Diwata, in Monkayo, Compostela Valley as tropical storm Sendong lashes through Northeastern Mindanao provinces which were placed at public storm signal number two Friday.

The Municipal Disaster Risk Reduction Management Council (MDRRMC) of Monkayo said Mt. Diwata Brgy. Capt. Rodolfo Boyles revealed that the landslide occurred Friday at 4:30 p.m., affecting five puroks.
Identified casualties were Julito Lumacto,28 years of age; Rosita dela Pena, 57; Ashlia Tuan, 14; Nasser Tuan, 6; and Rakema Tuan, 4 while the seven other individuals were physically injured. The report, however, failed to give further details about the physical injuries.

At least 83 families were affected with the landslide totally damaging six houses and partially damaged seven other houses.

Meanwhile, flash floods also occurred in nine other barangays of Monkayo including its Poblacion, specifically in Union, Salvacion, Pasian, Baylo, Naboc,UpperUlip, San Jose and Rizal.
Monkayo MDRRMC reports as of 11:45 today showed that more than 100 families were affected in Poblacion areas where some houses were submerged in floodwaters. Two others were partially damaged while five were washed out.

Electricity went out at the height of the heavy rains in barangays Upper Ulip and Rizal as electric posts got damaged and wires were cut off.

Some households were submerged in Barangay Salvacion. Affected houses in Pasian, Baylo, Upper and Rizal were either partially damaged or washed out due to strong current of floodwaters.

Aside from Monkayo, flashflood also occurred in Nabunturan, Mawab and Compostela towns of Compostela Valley, Provincial Social Welfare and Development Officer Josephine Frasco said. She could not off-hand give details as she waited for reports from MDRRMCs.

Meanwhile, Davao del Norte Provincial Disaster Risk Reduction Management Div. chief Sonio Sanchez in a text message revealed that parts of barangays Sagayen and Napungas of Asuncion town were inundated when Saug River overflowed due to heavy rains.

No casualties were monitored but initial reports revealed that 514 families were affected in Napungas.
Sonio had yet to get reports on affected families in Sagayen as of presstime, though initial reports bared five puroks in the barangay were flooded.

The Philippine Atmospheric Geophysical and Astronomical Services Administration (PAGASA) reported Tropical Storm Sendong to have slowed down as of 5 a.m. on Dec.16 but it continued to threaten Northeastern Mindanao and Eastern Visayas.

Listed Friday under storm signal 2 were Surigao del Norte including Siargao Island, Surigao del Sur and Dinagat Province, Agusan Provinces, Misamis Oriental, Camiguin, Bukidnon, Compostela Valley, Davao Oriental and Davao del Norte. (PIA-11/jeane duron-abangan)

Share Post:


Post a Comment

About Siargao

Siargao is composed of 48 islands and islets-politically divided into nine municipalities: Burgos, Dapa, Del Carmen, Gen. luna, Pilar, San Benito, San Isidro, Santa Monica, and Socorro. Read more...

Guest Publisher

We accept guest publisher. Please send your stories, municipal/barangay updates, upcoming events or articles at

Blog Archive