Tahitian surfer invades Cloud 9

Enrique Ariitu's foreign friends cheerfully congratulated him after winning the
 final rounds of the 17th Siargao International Surfing Cup last October 2, 2011.
(Photo by: Loanne Guardo Huelma)
A Tahitian surfer Enrique Ariitu showed both Filipino and foreign surfers including the spectators how Tahitians tube ride would be like and defeated the local surfer, Edito "Piso" Alcala in the final rounds of the 17th Siargao International Surfing Cup. This sporting event, presented by Smart Communications, was held at Cloud 9 in General Luna, Siargao Island from September 29 to October 3, 2011. 
The winning smile of a young Tahitian surfer: Enrique Ariitu
 grabbed the 17th Siargao International Surfing Cup title.(Photo by: Loanne Guardo Huelma)
Ariitu who travelled for more than twenty hours from Tahiti (an island located in the South Pacific otherwise known as French Polynesia) to the Philippines was the first  Tahitian surfer who invaded Cloud 9.  He said that he loves the warmth and hospitality of the Filipinos and promises to be back in Siargao next year.

The tournament was attended by forty surfers from AustraliaIndonesiaTahitiJapanUnited States of America, and Philippines.   Oscar Scanes (Australia) and Martin Tanegra (Philippines) were in the equal third while Carlito Nogalo (Philippines), Todd Rosswell (USA), Arkipo Figuron (Philippines), and John Mark “Marama” Tokong (Philippines) were in the equal fifth. All the winners got a total prize-money of US$10,000 plus trophies. Alcala who was in the second place was chosen as the Best Filipino Surfer. 

The winners of the Smart 17th Siargao International Surfing Cup pose with the government officials (L-R, standing) General Luna Mayor Jaime Rusillon, Surigao del Norte Congressman Francisco Matugas,  Surigao del Norte Governor Sol Matugas, Department of Budget Secretary Butch Abad (the Guest of Honor), and Philippine Surfing Federation Secretary General Zeny Pallugna. 
The 17th Siargao International Surfing Cup by Smart Communications was the Philippines’ longest-running surfing competition making the country popular among the world’s surfing arena and giving more opportunities to other surfing destinations in the country to be discovered or developed.    

The event would not be made possible without the support from the Local Government of General Luna, Provincial Government of Surigao del Norte, House of Representatives for the First District of Surigao del Norte, Department of Tourism, Tourism Infrastructure and Enterprise Zone Authority, Philippine Surfing Federation and Smart Communications, Inc.  Other minor sponsors include San Miguel Corporation, Stoked, Inc., Fluidsurf, Coca-Cola Bottlers' Company and Nature Spring. 
(L-R) The Champion Enrique Ariitu (Tahiti) poses with Oscar canes (Australia) and Todd Rosswell (USA) at the awarding ceremony of the 17th SIargao International Surfing Cup.
(Photo by Loanne Guardo Huelma)
Second Placer Edito "Piso" Alcala receives his Best Filipino Surfer award from Surigao del Norte Congressman Francisco T. Matugas during the awarding ceremony of the 17th Siargao International Surfing Cup. (Photo by: Loanna Guardo Huelma)
Share Post:


Post a Comment

About Siargao

Siargao is composed of 48 islands and islets-politically divided into nine municipalities: Burgos, Dapa, Del Carmen, Gen. luna, Pilar, San Benito, San Isidro, Santa Monica, and Socorro. Read more...

Guest Publisher

We accept guest publisher. Please send your stories, municipal/barangay updates, upcoming events or articles at siargaoislands@gmail.com

Blog Archive