Lay Day Called at Cloud Nine on Day Three of the 19th Annual Siargao International Surfing Cup Due to Large and Unfavorable Conditions

26 September 2013, Siargao Island-Philippines:  Due to large and unfavorable surf conditions, meaning 6-8 foot bombs detonating continuously on the Cloud 9 reef since sometime last night, a lay day has been called today at the 19th Annual Siargao International Surfing Cup.  

After 9:00 am and 1:30 pm standby calls, Contest Director Gerry Degan made the official announcement that there would be no competition today as there are still three days left in the waiting period and the swell conditions are expected to improve tomorrow.  

There were certainly some impressive waves rolling in today, but the swell direction didn’t produce the long barrels that are needed to complete the Men’s Open Division semifinals and finals in the optimum conditions that Cloud 9 is known for.

It’s hoped that overnight the swell will drop and perhaps even take a change in direction that will allow the Men’s Open Division to finish and also give the Women’s Division competitors their shot at some Cloud 9 barrels tomorrow.

The remaining men’s competitors, Mega Semadhi, Osot Alcala, Putra Hermawan, and Dede Suryana, and the 13 women’s competitors were told to be at the tower at 9 am and to be ready to surf.

Here are some more photos from yesterday action, as well as the video clips from Round 3, 4, and the Quarterfinals:

Round 3

Round 4


The 19th Annual Siargao Surfing Cup is sponsored by the Philippines Department of Tourism, the Province of Surigao Del Norte, the Municipality of General Luna, Cloud 9 Boardriders, Surf Angels, Reef Beach Houses, San Miguel Brewery Inc., Stoked Inc, Fluidsurf, Rip Curl, Siargao Bleu Resort, Nature Spring, Sagana Resort, The Boardwalk, Ocean 101, and DT General Merchandise, with media support by TV 5 and My Life On Board, organized by the Philippine Surfing Federation and sanctioned by the Asian Surfing Championships.

Asian Surfing Championships
Tim Hain – Media, Marketing and Communications
Tel:  +628123606674

Philippine Surfing Federation
Zeny Pallugna – Secretary General
Share Post:


Post a Comment

About Siargao

Siargao is composed of 48 islands and islets-politically divided into nine municipalities: Burgos, Dapa, Del Carmen, Gen. luna, Pilar, San Benito, San Isidro, Santa Monica, and Socorro. Read more...

Guest Publisher

We accept guest publisher. Please send your stories, municipal/barangay updates, upcoming events or articles at

Blog Archive