The 19th Annual Siargao Surfing Cup at Cloud 9 Officially Opened Today – Solid Swell on Top for Tomorrow’s Start

23 September 2013, Siargao Island – Philippines:  The 19th Annual Siargao Surfing Cup was officially opened today with the ceremonial breaking of a surfboard by the Hon. Benito C. Bengzon Jr, the Hon. Francisco T. Matugas, the Hon. Sol. F. Matuga, and Mayor Jaime P. Rusillon after speeches, singing and dancing, and the introduction of the local and international competitors who will be surfing in the event starting tomorrow morning.

With a swell forecast calling for solid 3-6 foot surf over at least the next three days, its expected that both the surfers and the spectators will be treated to some of the best tube riding in the world at the Philippines most renowned surfing destination.  Recently rated in the top 10 of the world’s best surfing waves, Cloud 9 is truly a dream wave, with powerful and hollow waves formed as the deep Pacific Ocean swells impact the coral reef in front of the scenic seaside town with hits iconic walkway and wooden observation tower.

48 men from 11 different countries including the Philippines, Indonesia, Taiwan, Australia, New Zealand, Italy, Israel, Russia, France, Holland, Hawaii will be competing in the ASC 6 star rated Men’s Open Division that has a total prize purse of $10,000 USD in prize money on offer, with $5,000 going to the winner.

The Asian Surfing Championships top ranked surfers that will be competing in the event are 2012-13 Asian Surfing Champion ASC) and 2012 Indonesian Surfing Champion (ISC) Raditya Rondi from Bali, 2011 ISC Champion Marlon Gerber (Bali), 2010 ISC Open and Pro Junior Champion Putra Hermawan, as well as Garut Widiarta, Pepen Hendrik, Dede Suryana, and Mega Semadhi, as well as local previous event winners Piso Alcala, Carlito Nogala, Dave Reardon Smith and others.

12 women from the Philippines, Japan, Indonesia, and Japan will battle it out for the $5,000 prize purse in the ASC 6 star rated Women’s Division, with $2,500 going to the winner.  ASC number one ranked Rina Kitazawa from Japan, 5 time ISC Women’s Champion Yasniar “Bonne” Gea, and local favorite and last year’s Siargao Women’s Cup winner Nilbe Blancada will be a treat to watch in the pumping Cloud 9 waves.

The event will start tomorrow as the swell is predicted to be building overnight from the 3 foot present this afternoon, making for a perfect start for Round 1 of the Men’s Open Division.  Contestants were told to be standing by ready to compete at 5:30 am for a 6:00 am start.

The 19th Annual Siargao Surfing Cup is sponsored by the Philippines Department of Tourism, the Province of Surigao Del Norte, the Municipality of General Luna, Cloud 9 Boardriders, Surf Angels, Reef Beach Houses, San Miguel Brewery Inc., Stoked Inc, Fluidsurf, Rip Curl, Siargao Bleu Resort, Nature Spring, Sagana Resort, The Boardwalk, Ocean 101, and DT General Merchandise, with media support by TV 5 and My Life On Board, organized by the Philippine Surfing Federation and sanctioned by the Asian Surfing Championships.

Asian Surfing Championships
Tim Hain – Media, Marketing and Communications
Tel:  +628123606674

Philippine Surfing Federation
Zeny Pallugna – Secretary General
Share Post:


Post a Comment

About Siargao

Siargao is composed of 48 islands and islets-politically divided into nine municipalities: Burgos, Dapa, Del Carmen, Gen. luna, Pilar, San Benito, San Isidro, Santa Monica, and Socorro. Read more...

Guest Publisher

We accept guest publisher. Please send your stories, municipal/barangay updates, upcoming events or articles at

Blog Archive